No one, not even someone you live with, has the right to hit you or threaten you with violence. There are laws to protect you. If you are being physically or sexually abused or threatened by a family or household member you may be a victim of domestic violence. You need not be married to the abuser or related to be protected under the law. Family or household member is defined as any spouse, former spouse, person related by blood or marriage, or any other household member who is or was living in the same household as you. In addition, the law also protects you from abuse by a person with whom you have a child in common. There is help! If you feel you are in immediate danger dial 911.
The Liberty County Sheriff’s Office Victim Advocate is available 24 hours 7 days a week to assist those in need. If you or someone you know are in a domestic violence situation please contact Jason Brock, Victims Advocate at 850-643-2235
Protection from Domestic Violence
If you have been abused physically or sexually, or have reason to fear you may become a victim of domestic violence, Florida law enables you to file for a Petition for Injunction for Protection Against Domestic Violence, Dating Violence, Sexual Violence, or Stalking; it explains your situation to the Judge and tells the Court from whom you need protection. An Injunction For Protection is a court document that states a particular person must not have contact with another person. You are eligible for an Injunction for Protection if you have lived with the abuser at some time and were recently the victim of abuse and/or threatened with abuse by the abuser.
To file for an injunction you must go, in person, to the Liberty County Sheriff’s Office at 12832 NW Central Ave.., Bristol, FL 32321.
Domestic Violence Resources
Refuge House provides direct services to domestic abuse and sexual assault survivors, and community education, in all 8 counties of the Big Bend Area of North Florida. They can be reached by phone at 1-800-500-1119 or 850-681-2111.